Rugby World Cup 2019 – RWC Japan 2019

The ninth edition of Rugby World Cup 2019 is going to held in Japan from 20th September to 2nd of November. The Rugby World Cup held after every four years. Twenty nations are going to fight for the trophy to become a world champion. Rugby World Cup Japan is one of the most significant events of this year. Rugby World Cup 2015 hosted by England and last Winner of Rugby World Cup was New Zealand. The format is the same as 2015 Rugby World Cup.
Japan will open the RWC 2019 at Tokyo Stadium on Friday, 20th September (Rugby World Cup 2019 start date) when they will take on Russia. Twenty nations divided into four different pools, five teams in each pool; they will play against each team in the pool. Twelve teams had automatically qualified for the tournament from last World Cup. Top three teams from each group were automatically qualified for the Rugby World Cup 2019 Japan. Those teams are New Zealand (the defending champions), Australia(Last Runner up), South Africa, Ireland, Argentina, Wales, England, Scotland, Japan, Georgia, Italy, and France. The other eight nations qualified through qualifying criteria of the International Rugby Board. The United States had qualified as Americas 1, Uruguay qualified as Americas 2, and Russia qualified in Europe 1, Samoa as Play-off winner, and Namibia as Africa 1, Canada in Repechage tournament, Fiji qualified as Oceania 1, and Tonga qualified as Oceania 2.
RWC Japan will be held first time in Asia. There are a total of 48 matches to be played on twelve different venues in Japan. In the first round, pool stage 40 games will be played each team in the pool will play against other teams in the same group. The second round is for the quarter-final where the top two teams from each group will qualify. The next stage is for the semifinal, and then Bronze final will play for third place. The RWC 2019 final will take place on 2nd of November 2019 at International Stadium Yokohama, Yokohama. Top three teams from each pool will automatically qualify for the next Rugby World Cup 2023.
The points criteria for Rugby World Cup 2019 are; four points awarded to a winning team, two points for a draw and no point for loser by eight or more points. A bonus point awarded to a team scoring four tries and that team loses by less than eight points both bonus points awarded. If tie on match points in a group the following rules will apply
• Winner of the group game
• Check the points scored for and against in all group matches
• Check tries scored for and against in all group matches
• Check total points scored in all group matches
• Check total tries scored in all group matches
• Check World Rugby Ranking as of 14 October 2019

Rugby World Cup 2019 Draw

The Rugby World Cup Japan draw for pool took place on 10th May 2017. The draw started with Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe drawing the pool to which Japan hosts were allocated. The draw system based on the five bands according to their World rugby ranking. The 12 automatic qualifiers from Rugby World Cup 2015 are assign according to their international ranking. First, the four highest –ranked teams for each group and the next four highest-ranked teams after that the final four directly qualified teams. Other eight nations were allocated according to the next two bands

Rugby World Cup 2019 Opening Ceremony

The opening ceremony for the Rugby world cup will take place on Friday, 20 September, 6:30 local time at Tokyo Stadium before Japan begins the World Cup against Russia. The Japanese rugby fans are willing to welcome guest from all over the world to demonstrate unity for international rugby. As a festival, Japanese people enjoy the upcoming RWC 2019 Japan. The host cities are ready to make the Rugby World Cup an incomparable one and will stand together to welcome and attract the greatest number of rugby supporters to travel to Japan from all over the world.

RWC 2019 Groups

Twenty teams are going to compete in Rugby world which are divided in four pools, five teams in each pools. The four pools are


>Rugby World Cup 2019 Venues

Twelve venues are going to host the Rugby world Cup 2019 Matches. The venues are Tokyo Stadium, City of Toyota Stadium, Sapporo Dome, Kamaishi Recovery Memorial Stadium, Oita Stadium, Kobe Misaki Stadium, International Stadium Yokohama, Fukuoka Hakatanomori Stadium, Shizuoka Stadium Ecopa, Kumagaya Rugby Stadium, Hanazono Rugby Stadium, and Kumamoto Stadium.

Rugby World Cup 2019 Fixtures/Schedule

The World Cup 2019 is the 9th edition of Men’s Rugby World Cup, Scheduled to be hosted by Japan. Here’s you will find matches timings, ground information, kick-off time. Get all upcoming RWC 2019 matches dates and time table.

2019 Rugby World Cup teams

Twenty teams are going to take part in upcoming mega event. Take a look at which teams have qualified for the Men’s Rugby World Cup 2019 at our page Rugby World Cup 2019 teams.

Rugby World Cup 2019 Teams Squad

Qualified teams are preparing to announce their team squad for 2019 Rugby World Cup. We will update once team squad announces. Check more details for World Cup teams at teams squad.

Rugby World Cup Warm-ups Matches

The official warm-up matches will start from July up to September 2019. Take a look at all warm-ups matches for 2019 Men’s Rugby World cup.

2019 Rugby World Cup Tickets

How to get tickets for Japan World Cup matches. Tickets for 2019 Rugby World Cup now availabe in the market

Rugby World Cup 2019 Points Table

Check the latest results about teams standing, team points, total win and loss and team ranking at RWC 2019 points table.

Rugby World Cup Japan Broadcasting Rights

Rugby World Cup 2019 broadcasting rights have secured by ITV in Japan. It was announced in 2017 that ITV held broadcasting right for 2019 RWC and as well as 2023 Rugby World Cup  that will held in France.

Rugby World Cup Sponsors

Official Sponsors are Canon, Toto, Mitsubishi Estate, NEC, Secom, and Taisho Pharmaceutical.
Worldwide Partners are Emirates, Land Rover, Heineken, Societe Generale, DHL, and MasterCard.